Log in Subscribe

Decision time

Runoff primary will be Tuesday


Early voting begins today (Thursday) as Oklahomans decide whose names will be on the general election ballot in November.

The primary runoff election will be Tuesday.

Just one race will be on the Democrat ballot. That is for the U.S. Senate and the candidates are Jason Bollinger and Madison Horn.

Voters who are registered as Independents may also vote on the Democrat ballot.

Only registered Republicans can participate in that party’s runoff primary election.

Included on the Republican ballot are the following races:

U.S. Senate (unexpired) - T.W. Shannon, Markwayne Mullin.

State Treasurer – Clark Jolley, Todd Russ.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction – April Grace, Ryan Walters.

Labor Commissioner – Sean Roberts, Leslie Osborn.

Corporation Commissioner – Todd Thomsen, Kim David.

In addition, voters in Dibble School district will be asked to approve a $15.45 million bond issue.

Superintendent Chad Clanton told The Purcell Register last month that the bond won’t raise property taxes in the district.

Clanton said the district wants to demolish the old elementary school and weight room to complete the first phase of a new high school.

Also, new athletic lights are included in this phase.

The early voting will be in the McClain County Community Center at the county fairgrounds.

It will be open today and Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

On election day, polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here